Karma Slap or Toddler Talk?

After giving birth to my first child 12 years ago I was happy to have a little bundle of boy. He has been mostly well-behaved, quiet and thoughtful about everything. Until he was eight I was 100% sure that having one child was perfectly fine. I remember saying that there was no need to jinks myself, I have one well-behaved child, if I try again I’m bound  to end up with a wild child.

Somehow I got talked (tricked, or whatever) into having a second child when I married my current husband.  I’m not going to lie I was a little depressed when I first learned I was pregnant. I thought “holy cow, I have a boy, my husband already has 4 boys…I better not be having a boy!”. But then I found out I was having a girl and relief flooded me, I was going to have a mini-me! I gave birth, she was precious and perfect, sweet and snuggly.

Then she turned 3 and everything changed. She is my mini-me in all physical attributes, and she still is precious and perfect, sweet and snuggly a majority of the time.  However, my daughter has taken on the part-time role of The Queen of SASS. I don’t recall being a sassy pants kid, so how is it that my daughter is a precious little angel one minute and turns into a head spinning, pea soup spewing, mouthy devil child the next?

“I don’t want to” (with pouty face and arms crossed)

“I’m not talking to you” (swinging head and body around so back faces you)

“Quit teasing me” (stopping feet)

“But I want to” (doing all the above motions)

Karma may be a logical answer for this.

I don’t talk like that, and she doesn’t get her way when she talks like that. So I have to ask myself what did I do that Karma feels the need to slap me with sassiness? I admit in my earlier years (OK a mass majority of my teens and most of my twenties) I may have had a little, tiny, small, attitude issue. I may have been known as a female dog on more than one or two occasions, but surely Karma says I can get credit for maturing in my 30’s. For being more patient, kind, loving and all around better person I should get a little positive Karma back and not have to deal with sass right?

OR

Maybe this is not Karma at all, just part of the GIRL toddler years and I:

A. Don’t remember being like that as a toddler (I’m sure my mom will be quick to clear that one up for me).

B. Just never experienced it because my son is always a pretty dang chilled out, quiet, respectful kid.

Hopefully the sassy phase is a toddler thing and passes faster than the tight rolled jeans phase from the 90’s (don’t lie you know you did it at least once!), and that Karma is happy with the changes I’ve attempted to carry out in my 30’s.

In the mean time I’m going to keep handing out ice-cream sandwiches and dollar spot trinkets for non-sassy days and keep the timeout spot warm and ready for the sassy marathon days.

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Karma Slap or Toddler Talk?

  1. Karyn says:

    I think we can rest assured that your sassy gene has not gone dormant, you’ve just found creative outlets like this to express it.

Leave a Reply

