Not so Random Ranting – Etiquette When Speaking to a Skinny Petite Person

You might be laughing at my ranting subject today….laugh away my friends but the reality is if you are not petite you may not realize that some of the things you say to us little people is just plain out rude 🙂 So I’m going to take my first ranting blog session to inform you on a few things NOT to say to skinny petite people to make sure you have used proper conversation etiquette.

1. Don’t tell me I’m short – HELLO captain obvious, I’ve been in this body for 33 years, I might have caught on by now that I’m never going to be taller than a Hobbit. PLEASE, if you are as tall or only one to two inches taller than me do not talk about how short I am to make you feel tall….look in the mirror, you are still short your just not as short as I am. The difference between me and you, I’m ok with being short.

2. Don’t tell me I look 12 – This one really cracks me up. Yes I am only 4’11, yes I weigh only 83 pounds and on paper that would fit the criteria of a 3rd grader. HOWEVER I have smile lines and the start of crows feet around my eyes, I walk and stand with confidence and I dress like a professional. So either you are mistaking  me for some rich, snotty, run down 12-year-old whose attempting to dress like an adult, or you didn’t take the time to actually look at me, see my facial lines and expressions and take into consideration I am not pimped out in Hollister.

3. Don’t ask me if I eat enough – YES FOR THE LOVE OF JESUS I EAT. I just don’t eat what you (large people asking the dumb questions) eat, hence I am skinny and you may not be. (People with medical conditions that  make them gain excess water weight are excempt from this overly generalized statement…but nobody else!). See the people who tend to ask me if I’m eating enough are plump. So they assume because I am not plump that I do not eat. I eat all day long, I eat more than my husband in a day. CRAZY huh….how can I be this skinny and eat all day long you ask…BECAUSE I don’t eat junk. I eat healthy. Yogurt and granola or an egg with toast for breakfast. Some type of turkey or chicken sandwich, rice with either chicken or fish and veggies, soup or pasta for lunch and a similar type dinner. Although for dinner I will splurge a little more because lets face it I can. I also snack on humus and pita chips, string cheese as well as dried nuts and fruits. I’m not a fan of sweets and rarely eat them (except the occasional cupcake, I just can’t help myself when those are around).

4. Don’t ask me if I’ve always been this size – NO I once weighed 110 pounds…I know quite the large one huh! And that was the day I gave birth to my second child. Of course I have always been this size, I didn’t shrink in the hot water of the shower or from spending too much time out by the pool in the sun. I have always been this size…I permanently stopped growing in 3rd grade!

5. PLEASE, I REPEAT PLEASE do not share your personal story or tell me that you have a friend or family member who is anorexic or bulimic – I cannot even begin to tell you how  many times people think they are opening a door of communication, reaching a helping hand to me etc on these two subjects because they really think that I either withhold food or purge it back up. Sorry but

A. I love food way too much to do either of those things.

B. Seriously people do I show the physical signs of either of these diseases???? (see picture attached!!) Just because I’m small and skinny doesn’t mean I look skin and bones and wasting away.

I actually am a perfect weight for my height and skeletal build (I checked it out with my doctor because I worked for an obese nurse practitioner once that was convinced I was subconsciously starving myself so she tried to “fatten” me up and that ended up making me feel sickly and lethargic all day).

________________________________________________________________

In a nut shell, for those of you that see me or other petite, fairy or hobbit looking people on the street please keep your wondering rude comments and questions to yourself. We don’t randomly walk up to you and say you look tall, stocky, fat, in shape whatever. We don’t asses your age out loud and then act surprised when you are younger than the number we randomly threw out because you looked ran down or tired that day. We don’t ask  how much you have eaten and then tell you its way too much. We don’t ask you if you have always been that size or did you just decide one day to eat an entire elephant. And we do not share stories of our overweight friends or family members, or talk about personal trainers we know trying to open the door of communication to the health risks associated with your larger than us size.

Before you ask or comment, take out the “short, small, petite” words you would have used with us and replace them with “amazon, plump, large” and think how you would feel if someone asked that same question to you.

This concludes your public service announcement on proper etiquette when speaking to little people….carry on with your day.

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Ranting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Not so Random Ranting – Etiquette When Speaking to a Skinny Petite Person

  1. Heather says:

    Ha ha! Shrunk in the shower! I love it. And yes, you do make my 5’4 seem tall. I really like your blogs, keep it up.

  2. This is a great post! Made me laugh, I can identify with being a little less massive than most other people and the strange/rude things the more massive have to say about it. I think secretly they wish they were smaller…

  3. Karyn says:

    LOL I didn’t realize whose blog this was until I got to the end. I was thinking, “gee, that girl looks a lot like my friend Adriane.” She’s even the exact same height, and just as sassy! Is this blog replacing blended crew?

  4. Thanks Karyn! Blended Crew is gone now…. 😦 but this one is better 🙂

  5. Thank you! As a fellow 4’11”-er, I am a fan of this post. 🙂

  6. Dan Schmidt says:

    Loved reading this. It happens at both ends of the spectrum – a 6’2″ 8th grader (which I was 20 years ago) is usually assumed to be much older than he is, and consequently either a very immature college student, mentally handicapped, or both. 🙂

Leave a Reply

