Keeping up with the “B’s” – an RV story Part Two – Shopping

Day one –

Shopping started off with me, my mom and my daughter, (Yes three little people looking like we escaped from the circus….not really but maybe), arriving at the first RV lot. I’m sure we looked a little funny, (mama mini, daughter mini and grand-daughter mini), regardless I walked right in and asked to talk to a sales guy. I gave him the general run down of what I wanted to look at. Poor guy looked at me crazy like I was some smart alec kid, (please reference my previous stance on this type of nonsense). After shaking the nonsense out of his brain he addressed me properly and took us three little ladies on a fun  golf cart ride to look at RV’s. We oo’ed and aww’ed but he only showed me two RV’s. I thought this was strange but what do I know about RV lots. I took some brochures and told him we might be back on Saturday. I got the distinct impression that, although he was nice, the sales guy was more worried about his solitaire game online then answering any additional questions I had.

Second stop was similar to the above. We get out of the car and ask to talk to a sales guy. When he arrived he  starts talking to my mom (arg, seriously!). I immediately start talking to him, letting him know what it is that I’M looking for not my mom. The guy actually gave an almost irritated sigh and said “well that’s going to be on the higher end price wise”. At that point I wanted to walk off the lot, as if looking at me he could tell (based on my height) how much I could or could not afford and that what I was wanting to look at wasn’t in my families budget. I bit the tip-off my tongue, smiled, and asked him to go ahead and show me ” some of them fancy ones” (in my best hickory stick white trash voice) he had to offer. Bubba was not to enthused to show us anything, and couldn’t answer any of my questions. He too only showed me two RV’s and said that was all he had to offer. I asked for a brochure to be nice (even though he really didn’t deserve it) and he asked for my info so they could invite me to customer appreciation day. Wow,  really? How about no. If you treat your other customers like you just treated me I’d rather not attend a day like that, (so I put my brothers information of the sheet! Just kidding brother…or not!).

Day two –

Shopping this time around was just me and my neighbor Mrs. Y, who also owns an RV. We arrived at the larger RV lot near my house and decided to skip asking for a sales guy and just start walking through them on our own (they leave them all unlocked during the day so you can wander at will…amazing to me). We had so much fun looking! While we were in one particular model a sales guy drove up with another couple and still took the time to introduce himself and answer some questions. THEN said he was finishing up with this couple and would come back out in a few minutes and find me. “Barney” (name was not changed to protect the innocent, he needs the real deal kudos) was the nicest sales guy I’ve ever dealt with. He showed me 8 different models, had a little reference book with him and could answer all of my questions and then some. HE was amazing and I left very happy with my possible choices, and one particular model that was my dreamy favorite but a little more than I had planned to spend.

Day three –

Shopping with the hubby day. This is enough to make a person want to start drinking early in the day. I love him, however, if I hear one more reference like “so how big of a TV could we put here, or how big of a TV can safely be mounted here?” I’m going to scream! RV camping is not about the dang TV…it’s about family time. I do understand that I may have to concede, no matter what RV we pick, hubby will have to have at least one decently large TV to seal the deal. We decided on two very nice RV’s (listing my favorite as a no but still my favorite)…..however, the neighbors thoughts about which one is best apparently is what will seal the deal for my hubby….WE SHALL SEE!!!!

Day four-

(Ok side note for the record….this has not been consecutive days in a row, we are not THAT impulsive of buyers…..it’s been over a three-week period).

We revisited the RV dealership and decided on the number two pick from last week. Since it was a busy day at the dealership, just for fun, we decided to go ahead and “re-look” at some of the others. To my very pleasant surprise  hubby was drawn back to my number one favorite that we had taken off our list. I assured him I was perfectly happy with the similar one that was a bit less money. 10 minutes later we were in with the sales guy negotiating a lower price. Hubby and his mad closing skills prevailed and we put a deposit down for my FAVORITE choice 🙂

The urge to one up the B’s has, (for once), given me the little piece of heaven on wheels I have dreamed about for the last 10 years. CHEERS Mr. and Mrs. B, I owe you a cold one of which you can enjoy around my new dinette later today! (And hubby will be glad to give you a more in-depth review of the predator, or terminator or whatever the fancy poop pipe is!).

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Keeping Up With the B's and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

