Conversations With a Toddler: A Spy Glass and the F Bomb

For the past couple of days my daughter has been obsessed with wanting a spy glass/telescope. When we visit any store she asks if they have a telescope. Silly me I’m thinking about the cheap-o ones that don’t even really work, but she wants a real one like Pirates have.

Now, for the record, I am not proud of the story that I am about to tell. The story does not paint me, as a parent, in a very good light and Jesus does not approve. HOWEVER, it was very funny so I’m going to share it.

My mother, daughter and I where shopping for items for my new RV (if you’re not up to date on that please read this first, followed up by this, you will not be disappointed I promise.). Of course daughter asked if we could look to see if this store had a spy glass. We looked in the little toy aisle and found no spy glass. Usually daughter is riding in the basket, however, the baskets at this store where made for Nome’s and even my mini-me seemed large for these baskets, so she was walking around.

I found myself looking in the kitchen aisles. Daughter was walking around, looking at stuff around me, when oh so casually she picked up a package of scouring pads (pretty colors no less) and said, “what the f#%^k are these things?”. I was intently looking at cooking utensils and did not quite hear her. My response, “honey what did you just say?”. “Mommy what are these thingy’s?”.

At this point I thought maybe I just heard her wrong, I mean I was looking at something else and not paying 100% attention so there could have been a huge possibility that I heard her wrong….right?

I explained that they were scrubby pads to clean stuff with, she said okay and put them down and went on looking at other things. I turned like nothing had happened. My mom looked at me with a strange look on her face. I looked at my mom and said, “man for a second there I thought I was hearing things!”. My mom answered, “oh, I was just thinking the same thing, I’m pretty sure I heard a word that started with F and it wasn’t fancy”.

And now I am the mom who obviously has used the phrase “what the F is this” one to many times. Now you know my dirty little sinful secret, I  battle the F bomb and other non-lady like terms.

Lesson in life 1023 – WATCH YOUR LANGUAGE WHEN YOU HAVE KIDS…they f’ing repeat everything 🙂

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conversations With a Toddler: A Spy Glass and the F Bomb

  1. Maggie O'C says:

    I’m with you!!! Here’s a post on that same thing. F’ing mothers unite!
    http://somethingfathappened.wordpress.com/2012/08/16/happy-13th-1-week-birthday-brigid/

    You have a great blog and a new follower and believe me I didn’t say that to everyone who found me through the FP, actually only you. So, wow you are so f-ing lucky!!!

Leave a Reply

