Let it Shine

Recently my family and I attended a lovely bon-fire. This was not a simple bon-fire, the fire was at least 20 feet tall; the fire was brilliantly amazing. As I sat on the ground, leaves all around, my little mini-me perched on my lap; I spontaneously started singing This Little Light of Mine. I did not sing it in the style I learned in Bible School, slightly loud and shouty; I sang it softly, into my daughters ear, slowly, like a lullaby. This memory, precious moment in time, reminds me of how wonderful life can be, and yet how overwhelming life can get.

This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine

I have a light within me that shines. It is the love my parents instilled in me; it is the love of Jesus that I let shine through my own shadows and sins. Some days this light shines bright for all to see, sharing love, hope and encouragement to others. Bearing others burdens while showing them that they too have a light within them that shines.

Hide it under a bush, on no, I’m going to let it shine

Some days my light is hid under a bush, my personal bush of issues. Some days I cannot seem to find the light no matter how hard I want it to shine. On those days I am reminded by friends or family that the light is always there. The light of my loved ones helps me find the bush and let my light free. The light of others love and encouragement shining brings my light back from the bush it gets lost under.

Won’t let Satan blow it out, I’m going to let it shine

Satan is on a constant mission to blow my light out. He sends winds of doubt, anxiety, anger, resentment. He tries to limit my light, extinguish it, smother it out. Some days I let him succeed. Without the warmth of the light shining I feel lost, alone, unworthy. The wonderful part of the light being out is that Jesus never truly lets the light go. HE reminds me that the embers are always there, I just have to embrace them, stir them up. Once again the light is shining bright as the SON, and I again am filled with love and warmth.

Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Have courage, be strong and let your own light shine.

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Family, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let it Shine

  1. insahmity says:

    Very inspiring thoughts — thank you.

Leave a Reply

