The Art of Doing Nothing

In my busy, chaotic, life I have found that doing nothing is very challenging. Honestly, I’m not good at doing nothing and struggle even attempting it. I find that, often, I try to do nothing but something always pops up to interrupt my nothing. I willing turn away the nothing in exchange for too much of everything else. This weekend, however, I took it upon myself to actively do nothing.

Here is the recipe I found for my perfect nothingness.

1. Get away from the city – We purchased an RV recently, and this weekend we took it to the Lake of the Ozarks.

2. Unplug from electronics – I put my phone in a drawer.

3. Build a nice pit fire.

4. Pull up a chair and stare aimlessly into the fire for a few hours while the small one naps.

5. Gather a large pile of leaves and lay in them while mini-me has the time of her life running, throwing and burying me in the leaves…for free!

6. Have a glass or two, or three of wine.

7. If the brain starts wandering into, where, what, who or why….focus back on the flames of the fire and shut brain off again.

I cannot tell you how AMAZING it was to turn off my brain, escape from the chaos of running errands and organizing. The level of anxiety I usually have disappeared, the soul took a deep breath and exhaled with peaceful calmness. I look forward to escaping more often to do nothing.

What do you do to perfect the art of doing nothing?

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Art of Doing Nothing

  1. mompart2 says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog! 🙂

    I never quite learned how to just relax until I hurt my back and found myself forced to do so. Initially, it was rather nice. Now, I would love to be able to do a hundred things in a day and then fall into bed exhausted.

    Good for you that you had the chance to just ‘be.’

  2. I’m not sure I can do nothing any more. 😛 When I try I end up with a much needed nap instead!

  3. waldo4accord says:

    Ha! Perfect. We do the same with Waldo and our son, although I must admit I am one of those people who can not sit still even on the beach. However, a high rock in a canyon somewhere and a great book, followed by a campfire……ah, yes then I can finally unwind. Great post.

Leave a Reply

