The Power of Words

I have not written anything worthwhile for many months; strange for a person who loves

Words

Words (Photo credit: sirwiseowl)

words. I love words both oral and written. I love the way words weave a story or string a song around my soul. Without words I would feel lost, unable to speak the way I feel, unable to find comfort from a single line of text.

In these past months I have had billions of words flow through my brain, cascading like a rushing river over a water fall that never quite seems to find the way to the end, never emptying into the ocean it searches for. I have also had an over abundance of words blown at me, some soft and comforting like a soft breeze on a summer day, while others where harsh and painful like thorns from a rose-bush leaving small cuts and scars.

Words are all relative right? I mean what’s calming and comforting to one may come across irritating and offensive to another. Words are often misinterpreted, misread, taken out of context or just plain out stated incorrectly as an honest mistake. Words, simply stated, often are the bare truth of the one delivering them. Once said, out loud or through written means, cannot ever be returned. Words have the capacity to change a life in two different ways. Words spoken with a pure honest love and kindness can save a life, restore hope, encourage or comfort one who had seemed inconsolable. On the other hand, words spoken with impulsive anger or hate can damage a soul for life, cause one to contemplate death, create invisible wounds that may never truly be healed.

It seems that more and more of the world no longer cares how words are thrown about, good bad or ugly.  Many in the world seem set on destroying others through words or merely not caring how their words truly affect the other person.

I would like to challenge anyone who reads this post to make a commitment to use only kind words for one week. I know this is a real challenge for some. Life can seem negative, the people around you may seem negative, but it may only take one word of kindness to change a negative situation. It may only take one week of kind words to change your life.

Ephesians 4:32 – And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.

About Little Mom BIG World

I am a mother of 2, business owner and all around juggler of the daily chaos of life. DISCLAIMER: I am an expert on nothing, I'm just a mom here to blog about real life. If you share the same opinions and likes, WONDERFUL we will be great blogger friends! However if you do not share the same opinions I will like you as well as long as you are respectful in your differing opinions :) ALSO I am a mom so I reference motherhood in my blog, if you are a single dad or stay at home dad just replace MOM with DAD while you read and it all applies to you as well!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Power of Words

  1. alesiablogs says:

    You are absolutely right. The tongue is a powerful instrument. We must use it wisely. I also am reminded that at times when one speaks harshly ( maybe someone you do not know well or can not understand why they are doing that) , they may have things on their plate you are not privy to that makes them not think straight. There is no excuse for treating people poorly, but we must consider the unknown in the other person. I hope this makes sense. I speak this because as a brain tumor survivor that did not know she had a large tumor for at least 5 years said things that hurt people. I know now some of that, but much I do not remember or understand. God Bless You. Alesia

    • Thank you so much for your comment. I agree that sometimes people can’t help the words that slip out, however there are so many that seem to throw words like boulders without thinking about the pain they are inflicting until its too late. In general I think the world would be a much more peaceful place if words were chosen more careful.

  2. MikeW says:

    Hope all’s well with Little Mom…will look out for your posts!

Leave a Reply

